Barbie’s Offensive New Slogan

As a father of 3 daughters I have to cringe when I think about their future.  I sing in a band and I watch the girls in short skirts dance with their butts in the air, hands on the ground, letting any random guys come up behind them and press their groins against them.  Gee, I can’t figure out why teen pregnancies are so high.

Sex on TV, scantilly clad dolls, and can someone explain why television networks decided that it was okay to use the big GD word.  When I grew up, that was the worst of all of the profane words, so why are the others not allowed, but the macdaddy of profanities is?

So is there anything sacred anymore? Apparently not.  My youngest daughter turned one this past weekend and I went to the store to pick up some party supplies and strolled through the Barbie aisle and what did I see?  Backpacks, purses, notebooks and a wealth of other Barbie products adorned with the phrase:

“When you look this good, nobody cares if you’re plastic”

barbie-plastic-slogan

Please tell me that I’m not the only one that’s offended by this.  I can understand the humor here, so the joke isn’t lost on me, but at what expense? Can you tell me that absolutely no one in Mattel’s marketing department saw this and said, “This probably isn’t a good idea.”  I’m not even in print marketing and I can tell you this is a bad idea.

The message here is that as long as you look good, nothing else matters.  This seems more appropriate for a plastic surgeon slogan, not for a toy that my daughter will use.  I don’t want my daughter (who has won multiple modeling and beauty pageants by the way) to think that beauty is the only thing that matters and everything else is superficial and secondary.

Am I the only one who finds this as offensive?  Please tell me that I’m not alone.  For me, I plan to boycott the purchase of any more Mattel products until this trash is pulled from the shelves.  Stop insulting our daughters and filling their heads with this nonsense.  Screw up your own kids and leave mine alone.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. misty
    Jul 29, 2009 @ 13:09:11

    I can see your point. The slogan could be taken in a different perspective, easily. I also agree with you about the world and the loose morals. Being a mother of 7 I understand your concern about your children’s well being. The best any parent can hope for is to instill morals and values early in life. When they grow up hope like heck they remember them and do the right thing. No matter what happens be there for them. Because you are there only safety net in this corrupted world.

    Reply

  2. Bianca
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 21:28:51

    Just seen this & have to say, I completely agree! Disgusting!

    Reply

  3. Georgia
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 23:15:25

    Yeah, I do agree. I thought it was just funny when they made the company reduce Barbie’s breast size because it was offensive to children. I don’t remember it being so offensive to me and I didn’t have any till i was nearly 16. I do think that that is pushing it a little far.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

